ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought this atv used knwoing that the 31T gear in the rear gearcase needed to be replaced. I got the driveshaft out and all the bolts but i cant figure out how to get the cv shafts off of it. Can anyone help me? Im new to atv and this is my first one. Thank you to whoever can help me.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Do you have the rear hubs off of the unit yet? I'm assuming that you are removing the transmission from the unit as a assembly. I will start from the beginning of the disassembly you may have completed most of these steps.

Remove the rear wheels from the unit then remove the upper carriage bolt from the outer axle hub and tip the hub assembly outward.
At this point you will have enough room to work the CV shaft out of the wheel hubs.

At this point you will give the axle shaft a sharp pull, this will dislodge the compression ring on the axle shaft in the transmission.If you find them very tight you may use two small bare or screw drivers on ether side of the hub next to the transmission and pry the hub out. This ring is basically a circular clip which wraps around the axle shaft. When inserted into the transmission is has a locking grove that it sits in. What you are doing when you pull outward on the axle shaft is compressing this ring. This compression of the ring unseats the axle and allows you to remove the shaft.

Have a look at this it may help.

Polaris_600_R-axle

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the rear tires off. The driveshaft out and i am trying to get the cv axles out of the rear gearcase but i was worried about tearing something up just kind of pulling on them but im guessing thats how to get them out. Thank you for the reply im trying to get this thing apart and put back together to take it out on some trails

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4