ATV Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to ATV's and bought a Suzuki QuadRunner 250 that needs a new starter clutch. I'm confident I can do the work, but am struggling to get the crankcase cover off!.....I removed all the bolts and am able to get a razor blade under the cover at the upper right corner, but it won't budge and I'm worried I'm doing soimething wrong or afraid I will damage the cover. Any pointers? help? I attached a photo of the cover ready to be removed...I think!?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Dean

Attachments

·
Registered
64 Posts
It's probably just glued on with a paper gasket, and a bit tight on some hollow dowels that the bolts go through. I'd check which bolts are made a bit long to allow for the depth of the dowel, or have a look in a manual or parts place to see where the dowels are, and then tap and pull on there. Give it a few taps on the side where the dowel is, then sort of strike it a glancing outwards blow, prefereably with a soft hammer.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Mech, thanks for your help.....I don't believe the two starter bolts come through to this cover. Here is a pic of the cover and
I've circled the longest bolts. Can you explain tapping where the dowels are? The engine is on the machine so it's hard to strike at an outward direction.....there are two tabs on the cover that I can pry on, but it doesn't move doing that.

Attachments

·
Registered
64 Posts