ATV Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys. I just ran up on a deal for a 95 polaris 400 2x4. The owners manual calls for tcw3 2 stroke oil. Since I'm a total newbee to the 2 stroke atv world, I'll defer to those smarter than I. What oil can I run in this bike that won't break the bank or smoke me out of the woods.

·
Banned
377 Posts
2-stroke oil....

A little 2-stroke oil info:thumbsup:
First of all, two‑cycle oils (abbreviated 2T) differ from four‑cycle lubricants (abbreviated 4T) in the fact that 2T lubricants "must combust or burn" and are chemically altered to do so. Four‑stroke, 4T oils are designed "not to burn" or combust and have different chemistry profiles that inhibit consumption by the engine. It is therefore for those unique and completely opposite operating requirements that a classification needed to be assigned to differentiate the oils based on the engine design cycle (2 vs. 4 stroke). The NMMA (National Marine Manufactures Association) was the first to set the standards for two‑cycle oils (2T) beginning in 1960. Listed below is a timeline for the various ratings:

NMMA Ratings

TC‑W (air cooled) -- 1960‑1988

TC‑WII (water cooled) -- 1988‑1995

TC‑W3 (water cooled/marine) -- 1992‑1996

Recertified TC‑W3 -- 1996‑current

As you can see, we are currently under a "recertified" TC‑W3 classification for two‑cycle lubricants that was driven by some of the OEM's to improve detergency, lubricity and reduce ring sticking. All 2T oils today must meet the TC‑W3 rating to be OEM approved and maintain your warranty requirements set forth by the manufacture.