ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the ATV market, looking for our first ATV. We recently purchased a home with 20 acres and a TON of fell trees that need cleaning . Can anyone provide feedback on the below opportunity: Dealer has somehow received a 2002 Polaris Magnum 325 that was purchased new in 2002 and never used. WOW, what concerns should I have.... Is it the right ATV for our use and also what can go wrong with an unused ATV for 18 years. I know it has not been beaten on, that is appealing to me but what else could go wrong???

Thanks for your advise on this...

·
Registered
178 Posts
I have a friend that had one those and he got the belt wet and it slipped letting the engine over rev and broke the connecting rod. I don’t know that you want to be moving trees with an older Polaris. Especially one that’s on the small side by today’s standards. I don’t think their quality control was up to par back during that time. I have a 2014 Polaris and love it. If you want to stay older I would probably go with Honda or Yamaha.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have another option , a 2004 polaris sportsman 700, should have enough power, 1800 miles. thoughts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Please keep in mind I’m only relaying what I have saw on these atv’s but I have another friend that has a 2004 sportsman 700. He bought it used around 2006 and has never had a problem with it. He don’t ride it a lot though but it will be plenty for what you want to do. I have a 2014 sprortsman 800 which is the same machine except with a little bigger engine and love mine.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
understand that you are only sharing what info you have or have heard. I really appreciate you responding and helping a new comer to the ATV community.

Stay safe!

·
Registered
22 Posts